Home » For tourist » Tourist Attractions

Tourist Attractions

Welcome to Lutsk!

In the end of the X century Volyn and Lutsk joined Kyivska Rus and became its western part. The first mention about Lutsk was first found in the Chronicles and dates back to 1085. Since that time the history of Lutsk began. The city name is derived from the word “luka”, which in translation from the Eastslavonic language means an arc or bend of the river Styr. The most ancient town name was “Luchesk”. Later it changed and gradually became as it is today – Lutsk.

 Lutsk has amazing historical and architectural heritage – 129 architectural monuments: among them 26 of national  and 103 of local significance.


Lubart Castle

(Kafedralna street, 1)

 

The history of Lubart Castle counts almost six hundred years. In 1340-1384 kniaz Lubart started to built the castle. However construction was only completed in 1430-1542, when prince Svydrygajlo had been governed. This building is an example of how renaissance architecture is combined with gothic style.

The castle has three high rectangular towers: Vizna (Entrance Tower), Styrova and Vladycha.

The  Lubart Castle  is the main city attraction. Different cultural events take place here (e.g. festivals, concerts, exhibitions, knight’s tournaments)

 

 Ivan Bogoslov Church Foundation 
(Kafedralna Street, 1)

The church was built at the time when kniaz Yaroslav Iziaslavovych ruled from 1175 to 1180. It is the first Christian temple in Lutsk and the most ancient brick building on the castle territory. Moreover it is still partially preserved. The value of this church is determined by its unique style (Volyn architecture) which was very rare in Kyiv Rus.

The Tower of Chartoryiski
(Kafedralna Street, 6)

 There were two castles in Lutsk: the Lubart Castle and Okolnyi Castle. Okolnyi Castle doesn’t exist any more, but one its forth brick towers, built in XV, is still preserved. The stone defensive wall decorated with gothic ornament is attached to the Tower of Chartoryiski,

 Lutsk Vault
(Kafedralna Street, 6)

 There are many legends about unique two levels vault under Saint Peter’s and Paul’s Cathedral. Their height is especially stunning, in some places it reaches 6 meters. Many years ago the vault connected the Old City with two villages: Shepel and Zhydychyn, with Okolnyi Castle and other fortifications around it. Many famous Lutsk habitants and Rome-Catholic bishops were buried in the vault.

House with Chimeras
(Luteranska Street)

 Except the Lubart Castle, there is one more interesting building. Some people name it the Second Castle. This building is located in the old part of the city on the bank of the river Styr. It is a private house-workshop of local sculptor Mykola Golovan. Mykola Golovan has been working here for 20 years. One can find here the sculptures of beasts, birds and other creatures. This place is very famous and people like to visit it. Sculptor uses many different styles: gothic, renaissance, modern and mixture of  unique and eternal things.

Saint Paul's and Peter's Cathedral
(Kafedralna street, 6)

 Saint Paul's and Peter's cathedral was built in 1616-1639 on a project of Italian architect Dzhakomo Briano. Among east Jesuit territories, Lutsk Cathedral is the biggest. At first the architecture was renaissance, than partly baroque and classic. Saint Paul's and Peter's cathedral has gallery and two towers in the corner of the main facade. The main facade is the most beautiful part of cathedral. God’s Mother sculpture is central there. God’s Mother is standing on the Earth and fighting with a snake. There are Peter and Paul’s sculptures on both sides above the entrance.

Jesuit college 
(Kafedralna Street, 6)

 Jesuitic college was a higher educational establishment. This college had huge library, student theatre. King Vladyslav spent  his time very often there. Here studied children from rich and famous families.

 Lutsk Holy Trinity Cathedral
(Lesya Ukrainka street,60)

 The building of Lusk Holy Trinity Cathedral started  in 1752 year. During next 250 year it became the most important sacred place in Volyn, which has rich and interesting history. There was a Bernardine Monastery before. Bernardines is a monastic order of Catholic Church. It appeared  in Volyn after Lublin Union in 1569. There is an old cemetery near the cathedral. Some  graves of the ХІХ century are still preserved here. Lutsk and Volyn metropolitan Yakiv is buried here.

Lutheran Church
(Lutheranska Street, 1)

 Lutheran church is an architectural cult monument which is situated  not far away from the Old City centre. With its Neo-Gothic style and a high spire the church became one of the most spectacular buildings in modern Lutsk. Lutheran Church was built by the initiative of the German colonists church community in 1906-1907. Many years it had been one of the mail temple of the German colonists in Volyn.

Lutsk. Former Dominican Monastery
(Gradnyi Uzviz,1)

 Dominican Monastery is situated on the southern part of the city on the bank of the river Styr. There were school, paper making office and music chapel at the times when catholic church was very popular. All monastery complex together with attached buildings made its own legally independent from the town part. Theological college of Ukrainian Orthodox Church now takes place here.

Synagogue
(Danyla Galytskogo street, 33)

 The main Lutsk synagogue – is the memorial of  Jewish  architecture of  XVII century. Its unique peculiarity is the defense tower which is attached to the worship hall. The building has traditional for that time circle shaped niches. The main synagogue was built by the order of king Sigizmund III and supported but Jewish population in Lutsk. Synagogue was the centre of Jewish religion, education and culture in Volyn.

Brigid Monastery
(Kafedralna Street, 16)

This monastery was built in 1624. In May 1845 it was damaged by fire. Then monastery was abolished, and later it was adapted to prison, today it is known as “Lutsk prison”, where in the 23 of June 1941 two hundred Volyn people were shooted. There are Saint Archangel male monastery and Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Kiev Patriarchate.

Khrestovozdvyzhenska Church
(Danyla Galytskogo Street, 2)

Khrestovozdvyzhenska church together with the Vasylian monastery make a single complex of preserved architectural memorials, which were built by Lutsk Khrestovozdvyzhenske fraternity.

Church Pokrovy Presviatoii Bogorodytsi (Pokrovska church)
 
(Karaimska street, 11a)

Church Pokrovy Presviatoii Bogorodytsi is one of the two preserved Orthodox churches in Lutsk which date back to the Royal period of history; it is an architectural monument of national significance. The Saint Panteleimonivska chapel was built near the church. Archpriest Oleksandr Teodorovych († 1879) and archpriest Oleksandr Ogybovskiy († 1938) are buried in this church. In 2002 memorial sing in honor of the 1010 year of foundation of the Volyn Diocese was built here.

Armenian Church
(Halshka Gulevychivna street, 12)

St. Stephan Armenian Church – is an ancient temple of Lutsk Armenians. It was built in 1427. In the XIII century Lutsk had approximately 300 buildings in Armenian district. In the XIII century Armenian population was rather numeral. At Soviet Union time Armenian Church was reconstructed to a dwelling-house which still exist.

Kosach Family House
(Dragomanova street, 23)

Kosach Family House is situated near Saint Peter and Pauls Cathedral. From October 1890 till January 1891 in this house lived Kosach’s family, which are famous in Ukrainian literature by the names of a writer and translator Olena Pchilka and outstanding Ukrainian poetess Lesya Ukrainka.

The house of the XVII – XIX century
(Pushkina street, 2)

This is an architectural memorial of national significance. In 1709 Peter I. stayed in this house.

Trinitarian Monastery 1729
(Senatorky Levchanivskoii Street, 4)

Trinitarii is a monastic order which was founded in 1199 to redeem prisoners from the Muslims. Today  military hospital is located here.

Sharytky Monastery XV – XVII century
(Kafedralna Street, 17,19)

This is an architectural memorial of national significance. Sharytky (nurses) belong to a special monastic order. They had a special medicine training and cared for the sick. Now it is Roman Catholic bishop residence.  Maltese service of help is also located here.

www.visitlutsk.com/page/ua/to-lutsk/